Top 10 Books I Plan to Read in 2013

Most people would make resolutions to focus more on schoolwork or their health or something. Not me. I make lists of the top ten books I want to read this year. Because books are awesome. Disagree? I’m okay with that. Now onto the list.

Quick note: I’m considering book series as a single book.

10) “City of Bones,” by Cassandra Clare. I know next to nothing about this book, except for the fact that it features a city made of bones, presumably. It also centers around a girl who can see things other people can’t. And I believe it’s the first book in a series of some sort. Also, considering that it’s a YA book, at least one of her parents probably died.

from wikipedia

9) “I am the Messenger,” by Markus Zusak. I don’t think I’d ever be interested in this book if it wasn’t for “The Book Thief,” which is my favorite book of all time. It was my Summer Reading Assignment for Ninth Grade honors, and considering that the book was assigned for school, I was expecting an incredibly boring book about boring people doing boring things. Then I actually read it. The whole time I was surprised by how freaking awesome the book was all the way up til the ending when I almost drowned in my own tears (which totally sucks, because the tears ruin the pages of the book. Then when you hand the book back to your English teacher, they always give you a dirty look and just roll their eyes when you try to explain what happened).

wikipedia

8) “The Underland Chronicles,” by Suzanne Collins. I know it’s a children’s series, but it was written by the same person who wrote the Hunger Games trilogy, and I loved the Hunger games trilogy. Even Mockingjay, which everyone else seems to bash on. From what I’ve read in the free sample amazon gives you, the book seems interesting. Besides the fact that Gregor’s dad had mysteriously disappeared a few years before (I’ll bet my hat his dad comes back later on in the story), everything in the book seems original.

wikipedia

7) “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy,” by Douglas Adams. I’ve heard enough about this book to figure out that the meaning of the life, the universe and everything in it is 42. How? That’s why I’m reading this: to find out. This is also my way of connecting with my nerdy science teacher who continually has to explain his jokes to the class when he references this book.

6) “The Last Guardian,” by Eoin Colfer. I still haven’t finished the Artemis Fowl series yet, and I am ashamed. Feel free to chain me up in the village square and throw stones at me. The fact is, I found the seventh book, “The Atlantis Complex,” to be incredibly disappointing compared to the rest of the books. I still want to read this book, though, mainly because I’m wondering what happened to Minerva, because in the last two books, it was as if she never existed. It’s a shame, since I’m a total supporter of Minertemis.

wikipedia

5) “The Catcher in the Rye,” by J.D. Salinger. There’s something intriguing about a book that has started so much controversy yet has gained so many loving fans. Plus, the f-word is supposedly used a lot, so that should be fun to read.

wikipedia

4) “The Boy who Dared,” by Suzan Campbell Bartoletti. I love historical fiction. I’ll admit it; I’m a historical fiction slut, especially ones taking place during World War 2. After all, WWII is the most interesting time period of mankind! (Take that, stupid 90’s kids!)

3) “War and Peace,” by Leo Tolstoy. I’m reading this book just so I can say, “I read War and Peace.” This is the book many people refer to as, “That giant f**king book that smart people read,” and I would very much enjoy to be one of those ‘smart people.’ Plus if the book turns out to suck, I could just chuck it at the window of my former science teacher’s car. While she’s driving it. Also, Charlie Brown read this book, so that’s pretty cool.

2) “The Dark Tower Series,” by Stephen King. I first starting reading King when I was eleven after coming across the uncut version of “The Stand,” in my dad’s room (Note: not the best book for an eleven year old). Although I was horrified at parts, I still wanted to read more of his work, and eight or nine of his books later, my next stop is this series. I would have started reading the books already, but for some reason, EVERY SINGLE STORE/LIBRARY WITHIN TWENTY MILES of my house seems to be missing the first book in the series, “The Gunslinger.”

from goodreads.com

1) “Divergent,” by Veronica Roth. This book is supposedly like the next Hunger Games, with a dystopian society and a female narrator who tells the story in present tense. I’m actually thinking about blogging the series like Dan Bergstein’s Blogging Twilight. If anyone wants that, vote in the poll below.

Any suggestions for new books?

13 Replies to “Top 10 Books I Plan to Read in 2013”

    1. From what I’ve read of the first book so far (the first two chapters thanks to Amazon’s free sample), I kind of love it too. Especially Boots. She’s probably the most realistically written two year old I’ve ever read about. Though that’s not saying much, since I’ve only read two or three books featuring a toddler as a character.

      1. Yes. Yes, she is.

        I think you’ll like the names in UC. There’s a lot of Roman names just like THG. And it’s about war. And there’s the UC version of Coin. And- *stops blabbering* But they have a lot in common.

Feel free to leave a comment below.

