“Pass the Parcel” Blog Tag

I’m joining this Book Blog Party because it looks awesome. And I enjoy talking about book related things. Plus there’s a free giveaway thing which looks pretty fun. Also, you should check out the Notebook Sister’s blog because their blog is cool and cool things are cool.

1. Name your top 5 favourite YA authors!

Markus Zusak (is anyone surprised by this?), John Green, Suzanne Collins, J.K. Rowling, and Cornelia Funke.

2. What’s the last YA book you read and what did you think of it?

I’m not sure what the last YA book I read was (I’ve been busy with Stephen King’s Dark Tower series, which is like, 4,000 pages long), but I think the last one I read was Gregor the Overlander and the Prophecy of Time, by Suzanne Collins.

It was my favorite book of the Underland Chronicles, along with the last and most deadly. For a book featuring talking animals, this series is surprisingly realistic. I like how the book took instances from real war events that happened in the past and connected them with the plot of the books, (Hitler’s anti-jew propaganda, the Coventry Myth), and how strong the character’s personalities were. There will me a much more detailed review of this book in another post.

3. What’s your favorite YA genre? (Dystopian, romance, sci-fi, contemporary, etc.)

I don’t really have a favorite YA genre, since my favorite books include The Book Thief (historical fiction), Paper Towns, by John Green (Contemporary), Artemis Fowl: The Eternity Code, by Eoin Colfer (Sci-fi/fantasy), and The Hunger Games (Dystopia). I’m all over the place. But if I had to pick one, I’d probably go with science fiction, particularly time travel, although i haven’t really read much of the genre (YA). One of my favorite adult books is 11/22/63, a time travel book by Stephen King about a guy who goes back in time to stop the JFK assassination.

4. Let’s talk characters! Pick a character you love and tell us why?

Does it have to be a YA character? I’m assuming it does.

My favorite YA character would probably be Margo Roth Spiegelmen from John Green’s Paper Towns. She is the definition of awesome. You should definitely read the book.

5. Top YA villain?

Dolores Umbridge. No explanation necessary.

6. Top YA couple?

I’m going to have to go with Quentin and Margo in Paper Towns, by John Green Although they were never technically a couple, they did have great chemistry, and the first third of the book where the two of them were out at night together causing mischief was one of the best parts of the book.

If Quargo doesn’t count, I’d have to go with Gregor and Luxa from the Underland Chronicles. Unlike so many other YA books, this is one of the only series to pull off a love interest perfectly. Again, you will hear more about this in a review later.

7. With dystopian on the decline, what do you think will be the next hot-trend in YA?

I think that due to the inspiring success of Fifty Shades of Grey, YA Erotica will be the next trend.

I’m kidding, of course. In all honesty I don’t know what the next big trend will be. My guess is time travel, but my guess is just as good as anyone else’s (unless your guess is YA erotica. In that case, my guess is a lot better than yours).

8. What’s the next YA book on your to-be-read pile?

My YA reading list includes:

  • The Absolutely True Story of a Part-Time Indian, by Sherman Alexie (this was recently added).
  • The Last Guardian by Eoin Colfer. I can’t believe I haven’t read the last book of this series  yet, since I love the series like  dementors love souls.
  • Divergent, by Veronica Roth. I’m supposed to blog this book series soon, which should be fun.

9. What’s the fastest time you’ve ever finished reading a book in? (And what was the book?!)

Save the Harry Potter books, there are only two Young Adult books that I recall finishing after having read all the way up to 2 in the morning on a school night. The first book was The Hunger Games, which was great, and  Paper Towns, which was even better.

10. (And now for the burning question) Do you think books should be sorted according to colour or title? (This matters.)

Neither, they should be sorted by the font. I have a thing for fonts. For one thing, I can only bring myself to read The Lord of the Rings if I read the good edition of the book in my school library; the book with the fancy font and is in perfect condition. If I’m forced to read the bad edition, I will likely get bored by Tolkien’s overuse of detail and fall asleep. Font makes a difference, people!

They should also be sorted by smell.

Also, I know why they call it pass the parcel. You see, in Polish, “Pass” means “Matthew,” “the” means “is,” and “parcel” translates to “awesome,” therefore, “Pass the Parsel” means “Matthew is awesome.”  Don’t bother looking it up though; just take my word for it.

4 Replies to ““Pass the Parcel” Blog Tag”

  1. The translation of pass the parcel makes sense. Yes. Undoubtedly. (Actually it’s a pretty old party game, like Hot Potato in the USA, I guess. I think it’s traditionally British.) Thanks for doing the tag! I like your organising books preferences (smell should be more of a thing. It’s sadly overlooked).

    Oh, and that giveaway has ended. But this one is still going: http://notebooksisters.blogspot.com.au/2013/04/interview-with-kat-zhang-giveaway.html

  2. Yes! Yet another person who shares my love of wondrous fonts! Fonts are awesomesauce.

    Also, that translation makes lots of sense. Absolutely.

    1. Fonts are indeed awesomesauce (awesomesauce tastes amazing by the way). and I’m glad you agree with my translation. I actually had a professional translator explain the whole thing to me. No joke.

Feel free to leave a comment below.

