My Journey Begins

“Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts.”—Winston Churchill.

For the first November in a while, I am not planning on writing a novel. NaNoWriMo keeps emailing me, trying to convince me to participate this year (could hardly blame them) but no amount of emails will ever persuade me to join. Instead I’m attempting NaBloPoMo: where I’ll be writing a post a day for an entire month.

Why am I doing this, you ask? I have several reasons:

  1. I already wrote a novel last April and I’m still editing it (probably shouldn’t have waited six months to start the second draft, but oh well).
  2. I figured a lot of my blogger pals will be doing NaNoWriMo, which means they won’t have time to post as much as usual. So I’ll be filling in that void where everyone else’s posts used to be.
  3. My stats have never gotten back to the height they were in May, when I was posting at least once every three days. I miss those days. And it’s a bit humiliating for all the other months, having to live in May’s shadow.
  4. I like to think that blogging each day is slightly easier than writing a 50,000 word novel within a month.
  5. I find that when I force myself to write, I actually write more than usual. Who would’ve thought?
  6. Something about fate.

Because I have to post once a day for now on (which is like, twelve times more often than usual), you could expect some changes. You can expect a slight rise in typos, and you can now expect posts to more often be published at 11:59 PM. You can also expect the quality of my posts to dip down in the beginning and then slowly rise back up as the month goes on.

There’s a large chance I will look back at this post a month from now and hang my head in shame. There’s a chance the work overload will cause some sort of mental breakdown, which will lead to me entering some sort of fugue state, and the next thing I know I’ll wake up in some stranger’s windowless basement, handcuffed to the furnace.

Hopefully that won’t happen.

Hopefully I’ll succeed (the odds are slim, I know) and whenever someone mentions NaBloPoMo I will hold my head up high and proudly say, “I did that once.”

Only time will tell.

4 Replies to “My Journey Begins”

Feel free to leave a comment below.

