Announcements, and Some Other Things

Because I know I won’t have much access to the internet in the next two days, I’m going to write a short post here, so I have time to get a better post published tomorrow (it may or may not be Thanksgiving related).

  • First off, I saw Catching Fire, for those of you who haven’t seen my last post. Watch this video to see my rating.
  • I asked the question Coke vs Pepsi? in a post three days ago. Seven people said Coke, and only one person said Pepsi. Looks like Coca-Cola won this round.
  • In addition, two people said Sprite, one person said Dr. Pepper, another said they don’t like either because the carbonation hurts their mouth, and one person claimed to prefer Coca-Cola mixed with vodka, which I can’t say I’ve tried.
  • I decided to give out a guest post every 500 comments. So in 217 comments, another one will be awarded.
  • I’m almost finished with A Game of Thrones (if it weren’t for The Scarlet Letter, I’d be done by now).
  • A while ago I wrote a post titled Why Short Books Are (Usually) Better than Long Books, and later I wrote Why Long Books Are Better than Short Books. Well, I’ve changed my mind again. The length doesn’t matter; the story should be as long as it needs to be.
  • That being said, I found a formula for mixing long books and short books. After each long book, you read two or three short books. So after A Game of Thrones, I’m planning to read 1984 by George Orwell, then I’ll probably read The Catcher in the Rye, and then The Perks of Being a Wallflower. 
  • I’ve heard that Catcher in the Rye is best if read as an angsty teenager. I am a teenager, but I can’t say I’m filled with angst. Maybe I should just read the comments on Yahoo articles, and it’ll put me in an angsty mood.
  • NaBloPomo is almost over! I can’t believe I made it this long.
  • Here’s a picture and a video:
I had the same face when I first realized this.

8 Replies to “Announcements, and Some Other Things”

  1. The Catcher In The Rye is angsty though I don’t think you need to be particularly angry to fully enjoy the reading experience, maybe just a little teenage unhappiness. On a side note, I like your theory concerning the length of books and I hope you enjoy The Perks Of Being a Wallflower (:

Feel free to leave a comment below.

