10 Books I Plan to Read in 2014

On January 2nd, 2013, I made a list of ten books I planned to read in 2013. I only ended up reading 6.428571 of them, but I’m not ashamed, because I ended up reading a bunch of other great books instead.

This year I’ll make another list of books I plan to read, not including A Clash of Swords, by George R. R. Martin and Wizard and Glass, by Stephen King because I already have those books with me. I won’t include War and Peace as well, because I’m probably not going to read it either.

1) Mistborn: The Final Empire, by Brandon Sanderson.

According to Liam, this book is amazing, and the two of us haven’t disagreed on anything yet. Well, except for Harry Potter… and anything written by Suzanne Collins. Still, I respect his opinion just like Lieutenant Gordon respects Batman.

Also, this is a fantasy book, and after A Game of Thrones, my interest in fantasy has increased dramatically.

2) Doctor Sleep, by Stephen King.

I will hopefully be getting a kindle this Christmas, so I will no longer have to deal with this whole “hardcover” nonsense. So far, the reviews seem preferable, and I read the free sample on amazon and loved the first few chapters.

Some other King books I want to read are: 1: The rest of The Dark Tower series, 2: Misery, 3: Joyland, 4: Cujo, and 5: Firestarter.

3) A Storm of Swords, by George R. R. Martin.

Unless A Clash of Kings is absolutely horrible (and I don’t see how that’s possible, considering it’s supposed to have fifteen Tyrion chapters and ten Arya chapters), I will be reading A Storm of Swords. And unless ASoS is horrible too (which doesn’t seem possible, considering that Arya gets thirteen chapters all to herself), I’ll be reading the next two books as well.

I just hope George R. R. Martin doesn’t die before he could finish the final two books of the series (sorry if that sounds cruel, but hey, he’s old). I wish he would just pull a Stephen King and finish the final three books within a year of each other.

4) World War Z, by Max Brooks.

There’s not a lot of books about the zombie apocalypse. Okay, there probably is a lot of them, but I haven’t heard of any of them (with the exception of John Green’s Zombicorns). People tend to frown upon zombie movies/stories, but I think they are great when the focus is not on the zombies themselves but on the characters’ changing morality. Plus, I need more zombies to fill in The Walking Dead sized hole in my heart, at least until the second half of the season comes back in February.

5) Anansi Boys, by Neil Gaiman.

This is a sequel to the amazing American Gods, which is one of my all-time favorite books. With the exception of Nightmare in Silver, Neil Gaiman hasn’t disappointed me once.

6) The Time Traveller’s Wife, by Audrey Niffenegger.

Recommended to me by The Plot Whisperer. this book appears to be about a time traveler. With a wife. I hope I’ll enjoy it.

7) The Casual Vacancy and The Cuckoo’s Calling, by J.K Rowling.

That’s right, I’m considering them as one book, even though they’re nothing alike. The Cuckoo’s Calling is the one I’m most looking forward to, since unlike TCV, it’s actually getting positive reviews. Plus, I’m a huge fan of mystery novels (see #9).

I’m expecting to like The Casual Vancancy because my expectations are already so low, the book’s bound to surpass them.

8) The Raven Boys, by Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve heard so many things about this book, but not much that actually explained what it’s about. All I know is that it has something to do with ravens.

I’m actually glad I know almost nothing about the plot of this book, because now nothing’s spoiled. A Song of Ice and Fire would probably be much more of a shocking read if I didn’t already know about almost every major character death in the series.

9) Any novel by Agatha Christie.

The Unicorn and the Wasp, an episode from the fourth series of Doctor Who, is what convinced me to give Agatha Christie a chance. I’ve always liked mysteries (Scooby-Doo used to be my favorite cartoon), and there is nothing more satisfying than figuring out who did it right before it’s revealed.*

Since Agatha Christie is widely considered one of the best mystery writers of all time, I’m setting my expectations high.

10) Les Misérables, by Victor Hugo

Sure, it’s over a thousand pages long, but I never really cared much about length, as long as it was justified by the story. I’d rather have a book take its time than be rushed just for the sake of keeping under a certain amount of pages.

If you’ve read any of the books above, what did you think of them? And if you have any other book recommendations, I’ll be sure to take them with at least four and a half grains of salt.

*I once solved a case on BBC’s Sherlock before Sherlock did. Never before have I felt so proud.

32 Replies to “10 Books I Plan to Read in 2014”

  1. I’ve heard good things about THE RAVEN BOYS, too. Well, I’ve actually heard good things about the sequel, THE DREAM THIEVES.

    I REALLY want to read the Game of Thrones series, but my dad said I have to wait until I’m older. ;P It sounds like my kind of fantasy series.

    Now I’m curious about your opinions on Harry Potter: do you like it or dislike it? (If you dislike it I’ll judge you forever. No pressure or anything.)

    1. My parents were also suspicious when I told them I want to read A song of ice and fire, but I convinced them I’m old enough. I don’t know how old are you, I wouldn’t recommend the series to anyone younger than 13. But I know some people can be more mature than others no mater the age.
      I read The time traveler’s wife last summer and I quite like it. It’s kind of a mixture between love story and the idea of traveling through time, but I’d say it has more of the first one.

      I’ve also made a list of all books I want to read in 2014. There’s around fifty books on the list so far, but most of it are short novels.

      1. I’m 13. 🙂 My parents are pretty loose with the stuff I read/watch on TV. But Game of Thrones and Perks of Being a Wallflower are two books they said not yet to.

      2. Have you ever watched Doctor Who? Because one of the main reasons I want to read The Time Traveler’s Wife is that it’s supposed to be very similar to the River Song storyline.

        Fifty books, eh? That’s probably around the length this list would be if I hadn’t limited myself to just ten. Happy reading!

      3. Doctor Who is my favorite TV show and also the main reason I read the book. My sister saw the book in the library and borrowed it immediately since she’s a huge fan of River Song.

    2. While A Game of Thrones isn’t that bad, content-wise, the show certainly is.

      I love Harry Potter (and anything by Suzanne Collins). I remember Liam saying he didn’t like them.

  2. Mistborn is awesome! Brandon Sanderson is a brilliant author. Also, I rarely do this, but I actually recommend going for the abridged Les Miserables. In the unabridged version Victor Hugo goes on for 150 pages describing the Battle of Waterloo, simply to set up a scene where a character is looting the corpses after the battle is over. He also spends a frightening number of pages on the wonders of human bodily waste. Not kidding.
    That being said, I obviously did read the unabridged version, and I still really enjoyed it. So the choice is yours! 🙂

    1. Hmm… is the Battle of Waterloo at least interesting to read? There’s a version of this book in my school’s library but I’m not sure whether it’s unabridged or not.

      (sorry for the late reply)

  3. Wonderful choices! (I’m new here, by the way. Hi.)

    I’m saving Anansi Boys for a literary rainy day. I tend to fly through Neil’s books and wanted there to be something out there I’d never read, just in case I’m ever in terrible need of a Gaiman fix. Haven’t read any of the others except the Song of Ice and Fire ones, and I really don’t have anything bad to say about that series except that it’s taking too damn long to get book six in my hands.

    And I can’t imagine anyone solving anything before Sherlock does. Well done!

    1. Hi, welcome to the blog.

      In Sherlock’s defense, he hadn’t even gotten to the crime scene yet. Just Watson was sent to investigate at first, and I went by the old “If an unimportant character gets an extra few lines, he/she’s probably the killer” rule.

  4. Good list! I can’t believe you haven’t read an Agatha Christie yet … if you like mystery novels you have to read Christie 🙂 I must have read my first one about 25 years back but I still enjoy them although I sometimes can’t stand Poirot or Ms. Marple. ‘And then there were none’ or ‘Murder on the Orient Express’ are good to start with. I don’t know if you will like ‘The Time Traveler’s Wife’ – I absolutely love it; such a romantic book … sigh …
    Have you read ‘Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell’ by Susanna Clarke? Great book!
    Once you have your kindle, you will find that there are a whole lot of zombie books out there!

    1. “And Then There Were None” seems to be the most popular, so I guess I’ll start with that one. I haven’t read of “Jonathon Strange and Mr. Norrell”, but from the summary it sounds interesting.

      I’d be willing to read just about anything with zombies.

  5. You don’t really have to read ‘The Time Traveller’s Wife’ if you don’t want to Matt! The reason I recommended it to you is because you said you loved ‘time travel’ and this book is quite amazing in that regard. 🙂 (more than just a guy with a wife Ha ha!)

      1. If you can get time travel right like this author and believe me it’s complex stuff, then you’re a champion/winner. I’m in Australia, where are you?

  6. AAAAAH YOU SHOULD READ THE CHRISTIE FIRST. It’s brilliant. It’s as close to a perfect book as there will ever be, methinks. Really suspenseful and complicated yet simple at the same time.
    I’ve never read The Time Traveler’s Wife, but I’ve heard that’s where some of the ideas for Eleven/River came from. 🙂

    1. Yeah, the storylines seems suspiciously similar. Perhaps Moffatt plagiarized and hoped no one would notice.

      And about Agatha Christie: I’m planning to read “And Then There Were None” first, because the premise sounds interesting.

    2. *nods* I’ve also read that he heavily borrowed things for the Empty Child and the Vashta Nerada.
      (Oh, wait. *was looking at The Time Traveler’s Wife* The summary says this guy meets his wife for the first time in a library. *facepalms*)

      1. Maybe Audrey Niffenegger stole the ideal from Moffat via time-travel? Anything’s possible.

        He also stole the basis of the Weeping Angels from Stephen King (which no one ever seems to care about but me).

  7. I’ve never read Brandon Sanderson, but everyone keeps recommending him. I”ll have to add that my 2014 list as well. I read Anansi Boys in like a day, the first Gaiman book I ever read. I remember it being quite odd an entertaining.

  8. I actually solved the very first Sherlock episode before he did, the one with the cabby. It seemed obvious, but that’s the only one I’ve been able to do so far. Also, I suggest “Passenger to Frankfurt” as a great Agatha Christie book for you to read. It’s not her usual fare, but it is really good.

    1. Good job, I think you’re the first one I know to have figured that out before it was revealed. That episode (like a lot of Sherlock episodes and stories) for me at least, seemed obvious when you look back at it, but impossible to solve at the time. (Which is what every good reveal should be like.)

  9. Have read Mistborn great book, amazing series. Not as great as Harry Potter, but still pretty good. I recommend The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss, if you like fantasy. The concept Rothfuss has is amazing and original. You’ll like it a lot. Doctor Sleep sounds good, I’ll add that to my list!

    1. To be fair to Mistborn though, nothing is as good as Harry Potter. The Name of the Wind sounds awesome, though I might just wait until the whole series is finished, just to spare me the pain of having to wait for each installment.

  10. World War Z was good. Graphic, but good. The way it’s written is interesting.
    The Casual Vacancy . . . eh. I’m a huge J.K. Rowling fan, and it is very different from Harry Potter, but honestly, it is not her best work. For some reason, I was kind of surprised that she would write something like that. I haven’t read The Cuckoo’s Calling yet, but I plan to.
    And I love Doctor Who!! It is one of the best shows out there.

  11. Curious to hear how you like “World War Z.” Have you read the original comic book version of “The Walking Dead?” It’s amazing, completely hopeless, and way scarier than the tv series (I know – how is that even possible?! But it is).

    As for the others here… I don’t really like mystery novels, but “And Then There Were None” was a fun read (and fast). I really, really liked “A Casual Vacancy,” though it seems I’m one of the only people who did. haha. Just keep in mind J.K. Rowling has a lot of pent-up aggression against stupid/narrow-minded people and gets to creatively eviscerate them in this book with her always on-spot characters. “The Time Traveler’s Wife” was made into a sappy movie, so I would skip that, especially since the title sounds old-fashioned and silly, like a slightly upscale version of a 1950s, pre-feminist dime-store romance. Again, curious to hear how you like/dislike it!

    1. If only read the first issue of The Walking Dead. Unfortunately, just about all the major character deaths and plot points have been spoiled for me, since a few months ago I clicked on an article about the “Ten Craziest Things to Happen in the Comics,” and then I read on a bunch of other spoilerific articles. At the time I had no real desire to read the comics. Luckily the show isn’t faithful to the comics at all (except for parts of season 4).

Feel free to leave a comment below.

