Sixteen is an Overrated Age

I’ve never done the daily prompt for The Daily Post, but I think I’ll give it a try today, with the prompt being, “Tell us all about the person you were when you were sixteen. If you haven’t yet hit sixteen, tell us about the person you want to be at sixteen.”

I have yet to turn sixteen, which may surprise everyone, considering how super mature I am. I’ll be turning 16 in May, and I could picture myself now, in little over a month.

Obviously, I’ll be driving my totally bitchin’ new car to school each day, (a convertible!), with the top down no matter what the weather. Because weather ain’t a problem for those who need four separate hands to count their age.

I’ll probably have grown five to ten inches by this point (16-year olds are tall), and I’ll be sporting a magnificent beard for all to marvel at, and I’ll never have to worry about acne again. If all goes according to plan, I will look like this guy:

I’ll also have all the wisdom and experience that only those sixteen and up could have, and I plan to live happily with the knowledge that 90% of young adult novels and high school dramas center around protagonists my age. There’s also a much higher chance of me making it onto an MTV reality show. *crosses fingers*

But honestly, I’m also a bit upset to be turning 16 so soon, if only because Christopher Paolini published Eragon at fifteen, and I really wanted to beat his record. (You win this round, Paolini.)

I’m also slowly turning into an adult, and that’s a terrifying prospect. I mean, have you ever talked to an adult before? They’re horrible. They’re all “Ooh, taxes!” and “Ow, back pain!” and they lack the “Go binge-drinking!” attitude us teens seem to have, which depresses the hell out of me.

Now I know how Holden Caulfield feels.

31 Replies to “Sixteen is an Overrated Age”

  1. Okay, okay… we adults are not that bad but I agree with the ‘ouch back’ bit but I honestly only discovered that so it takes a while to manifest… When I was sixteen I was so thin and beautiful but so very shy and awkward. My son, who is 22, asked me yesterday in the car if I still feel like the same person that I was at 21. The answer is hard because it’s a ‘no’ and a ‘yes’. You are still essentially yourself but you have all these added levels of knowledge and experience. And yes before you think it – just like Shrek. ‘Ogres are like onions with many layers.’
    You could definitely have a book published by the time you’re twenty-one if that is your aim – And I’m no prophet but your writing will improve enough by then because you write a lot. Practise is the key. Did I use the right practise? That’s one word I continue to have trouble with even in my old age. I’ll be glad to hear you prove me wrong and publish something you give birth to before then. I’ll be there at the book shop buying it the next day! πŸ™‚

  2. I really loved this post and how you tore into all the stereotypes hanging around turning 16. It is entertaining, witty and made me smile. I really like your writing style and will definitely keep an eye on your blog.

    P.s. good luck with your writing!

  3. I just turned eighteen last week and it’s scary to think that I’m now officially an adult. I don’t even want to think about it.

  4. I’ve just ‘finished’ being sixteen, and to be honest I couldn’t be more relieved-or more frightened. Enjoy it, take advantage of it and just-about-put-up with it whilst you can, sport!

  5. haha! I turned twenty last week, just you wait! Being sixteen is awful, you’ll feel much better at about 18, 19. You know, so long as you have no back pain, which isn’t likely with the amount of books that you probably carry around (If you’re like me…)

  6. I turned twenty-four last year. I’m digging in my heels against the big quarter century this year, trying to put it off as long as possible, because I’m still refusing to admit that I’m an adult. Thankfully, the back pain and complicated taxes have held off, letting me extend my delusions (so long as we don’t talk about my shoulder pain, and my uncomplicated taxes.)

    But I can agree that sixteen stunk. Less than fifteen, thankfully, and the years have seemed to get better as they roll forward. I have found a strange thing: age might bring responsibility, and worries, but it also brings greater capability, and there’s nothing like knowing that you CAN do something, even if you choose to pass up the opportunity today. As long as you keep resisting becoming an old fogey, you’ll grab more opportunities than you ignore, and have more opportunities the older you get.

  7. Reblogged this on poohloversunite and commented:
    I agree with this. Especially about the adults being horrible (KIDDING, Love you mommy <3).
    And I'm just saying, but being 16 really is overrated (I turned this magical number in December). I think the best parts is that when you go read stuff, everybody's the same age. Being this old actually makes me wish I was younger…because now, you can't take a beginners karate class without being judged (either by old 34 year olds or young 5 year olds).

Feel free to leave a comment below.

