Game of Thrones: Laws of Gods and Men Review

Caution: Spoilers for every GoT episode up until now, but nothing that hasn’t happened yet in the books will be spoiled.

Really, the only disappointing moment in this whole episode was when the screen cut to black at 9:52, eight minutes before I expected. Nothing goes by faster than an episode of Game of Thrones, and this particular episode felt like a sitcom (in length, not in tone).

The episode starts off with a quiet scene featuring Davos and Stannis meeting with Mycroft Holmes Tycho Nestoris, where Davos got to show off his best bro skills as he gave a monologue about how great of a King he [Stannis] would make, which convinced them to loan him money. I would’ve done a fist bump if not for the fact that I’ve always believed Renly would’ve made a much better King. #TeamRenly4Life

Meanwhile, Yara goes on a mission to rescue Theon—sorry, I mean Reek—only to fail in a scene remarkably similar the episodes in the Simpsons where Mr. Burns releases the hounds. At first glance this scene seems like pointless filler, since there were no real consequences for either party. I mean sure, Ramsay lost a lot of men, but I doubt he ever placed much value on human life to begin with, and Yara’s back in the exact same place she started. But the real point of the scene was to show just how much of an effect the months of endless torture had on Theon. When there’s finally a chance for him to escape, he doesn’t take it because he thinks it’s some sort of trap, which is frustrating and heartbreaking at the same time.

(Side note to all the aspiring authors out there: If you ever want to make an unlikeable character sympathetic, just have some crazy psychopath torture him for a year or so.)

The bath scene afterwards was all types of creepy and depressing, and it made me realize just how great of an actor Alfie Allen is. Too bad The Dinklage had to steal the spotlight near the end. On the bright side, I’ll be shipping Theon and Ramsay for now on.

I loved the scene with Daenerys, because now it seems that the rules of aSoIaF, that cause the suffering of every other character in the show, are finally applying to her. She faces two difficult moral problems in a row, only to find that she has to listen to over 200 more whiners? Even worse: she has to listen to Missandei repeat all her titles over and over again all day? I’d rather be Theon.

Then we get to the juicy part of the episode: the trial. All of Tyrion’s past moments of awesomeness come back to haunt him, as he is betrayed by both Varys and Shae, and has to put up with Grand Maester Pycelle’s, Cersei’s, and Meryn Trant’s obvious exaggerations and lies. (Really, Pycelle? Joffrey was the most noble child the gods ever put on this good earth?)

Peter Dinklage deserves not one, not two, but TWELVE Emmys for his acting in this episode, most notably from the moment Shae showed up in court until his big speech at the end. “Watching your vicious bastard die gave me more relief than 1,000 lying whores.” “I wish I had enough poison for the whole pack of you.” Oh, snap. Shit just got real.

I like how Tyrion called for the trial by combat with no real hope that he’d win. After all, his two most likely champions are Jaime and Bronn. The former has lost a hand and the latter has been mysteriously absent lately. Plus, they’ll have to face Gregor “The Mountain” Clegane, (is this a spoiler? I hope it’s not.) who is described in the books as being seven feet tall and more muscular than the Hulk and I (that’s right, me) combined. Tyrion did this because it’s the only option in which Tywin had no control over, and it completely ruined the whole “ship Tyrion off to the Night’s Watch” plan, which we all knew wasn’t going to happen anyway. I’d be happy for Tyrion if it weren’t for the fact that he’s probably going to die soon. No spoilers there; that’s just fake speculation.

The show hasn’t really gotten the point across that the Mountain is a horrible person, in my opinion. In the books, I hated him more than I hated Joffrey, and that’s saying something.

Rating: 9/10.

Other things of note:

  • How do you TV only viewers feel of Shae? While betraying Tyrion wasn’t the nicest move, it’s not like she had much of a choice in the matter. I doubt she knocked on Tywin’s door and offered to be a witness for the trial. But from the look she gave Tyrion you could tell she’s at least partially doing this for revenge.
  • I have theory that Daenerys is actually Yara Greyjoy in disguise (or vice versa). Think about it: you never see them in the same scene, and they’re both around the same height, so… yeah. I’m calling it.
  • I love how casually Yara slit that man’s neck. She’s the best.
12 Replies to “Game of Thrones: Laws of Gods and Men Review”

  1. I was absolutely fascinated when Tyrion’s face began to twist and morph while Shae took the stand. And after his speech I was definitely on Team Tyrion. I’ll be sad if he dies or has to leave 😦 (since I haven’t read the books I have no clue to what will happen.)

  2. This whole episode was perfection. But those last few minutes were brutal (in the best way). Thanks for the awesome review! *happy sigh* Oh Tyrion.
    Also, to your point about how to make Theon sympathetic – how awful is it that I still hate him, even after all that? I just hate his torturerwhosenameIforget now too? Both are such poorly-drawn and 1-dimension characters IMO, which is surprising because nearly everyone else in GRRM’s world is incredibly complex.

    1. Why, your welcome.

      While I think Theon is a very complex character, I agree with you on his torturer, Ramsay. It’s like GRRM got tired of writing three dimensional characters and decided to just throw in a 100% insane one just to spice things up.

  3. I absolutely loved this episode! My heart has been growing softer for Jamie Lannister, and I have always loved Tyrion. Ugh, I wish sunday nights fell on every night of the week.
    Or they could make each episode two hours long.
    I just need more.

    1. But if Sunday nights were every night, then the GoT seasons would only be ten days long! Though if each episode spanned two hours, I think I’d be okay with that.

  4. In the tv show, we first saw The Mountain in season 1, when he jousted against Loras Tyrell. Then, we saw him at Harrenhall in season 2, where he picked which prisoners to torture — and he was played by a different actor. And I have read that they’ve cast a third actor to play The Mountain this season.

    I’m not quite sure why they keep changing the actors for this character.

    1. I bet that’s really confusing to those who haven’t read the books. Considering it’s been two years since he last showed up on screen (and played by a different actor, no less), I wouldn’t be surprised if a lot of people didn’t even know who he was.

  5. Personally, I like Shae. I guess I like some aspects of Tyrion’s character, but a lot of that is canceled out by how horribly he treats Shae. Yeah, I get that a lot of Westerosi men rape and murder and make women be their whores… it doesn’t excuse that for anyone. So I don’t quite understand the people who love Tyrion 100%.
    Basically, I don’t think Shae was given a choice in testifying, and if she DID want revenge on Tyrion, well, I would to. None of this was her choice.

    (Although, I think the TV show might make things more complicated because she seems to be actually in love with him? In the books he knows she’s pretending/doesn’t care.)

    1. I think people are willing to forgive Tyrion for his flaws because he’s an underdog and he says clever things. And he slapped Joffrey around a couple times. He could murder a basket full of puppies and he’d still have fans.

      In the show, they both have genuine feelings for each other. I believe Shae even asked Tyrion to leave King’s Landing so they could be together, and later she turned down the chance to leave KL because she wanted to stay with him. Show Tyrion (so far) is a lot nicer than book Tyrion.

Feel free to leave a comment below.

