You Are Invited to the Greatest Blog Party Since the Last Greatest Blog Party

That’s right, it’s time for another blog party, and it’s going to be awesome.

But what is a blog party, you may ask? Well, there are two definitions:

  1. An excuse for me to not to write a complete post.
  2. When a group of bloggers write about a certain theme/subject/prompt/whatever and link back to the blogger who hosted the “party.” The host then links back to each blogger who participated in his/her own separate post. This way, everyone benefits from an increase in traffic, and they’re introduced to other bloggers they never would’ve met otherwise. Basically, everyone benefits.

Still confused? Click on this and this. Hopefully, things should be cleared up.

The topic for this blog party is:

Write the worst story you can possibly write.

Excited? You better be. For this, you have to write a story that you know for a fact is terrible and unsatisfying, with bizarre plot twists that don’t quite make sense or random celebrity cameos that don’t even serve the plot. It has to be so bad it’s good. We will all give each other complements like “Man, this story sucks!” which will get a reply like “Aw, thanks.”

Credit for the idea goes to Plotwhisperer, who has killer dance moves, I may add.

The rules:

  1. Don’t be that guy who writes a story that’s actually genuinely good, in the hopes that the readers will think, “Wow, if he considers this to be bad, all his other work must be amazing!” You won’t fool me.
  2. The story should be a reasonable length. Nothing over 1,500 words. A little over’s fine.
  3. I’m not sure how Blogspot works, so if you’re on there and want to participate, comment here with a link to your post, just to be safe.
  4. Everyone, even complete strangers who are just discovering this blog now, are allowed to participate.
  5. Your story can be terrible, but the spelling and grammar can’t.
  6. Have fun.

The part takes place from this Friday (May 16th) to Sunday (May 18th). Be there, or be square. I’ll probably be posting my story tomorrow.

19 Replies to “You Are Invited to the Greatest Blog Party Since the Last Greatest Blog Party”

  1. Okay so I had a bit of time and a lot of fun doing this! I’m a bit early but mine is on my blog if anyone is interested. Don’t know how to link it to this one!! Duh!

  2. Hello! This sounds like a lot of fun; I’m certainly going to get to work soon. I’m a little confused about the process of it though – do you mean we use pingbacks to link between our post and yours?
    Thanks 🙂

  3. Darn… I already have other posts set for those days. 😦 Anyway, it looks fun. (And have you had trouble with WP subscriptions lately? *pokes WP sternly* I didn’t realize your latest three posts were up because I wasn’t sent them…)

    1. WordPress has been acting weird lately. While I haven’t missed any posts, (that I know of, at least) each post pops up twice now. And the app on my phone keeps crashing. 😦 ‘

      Do you still have this problem? You could do what I usually do, and just threaten to move to Blogger.

      (Sorry for the very late reply. In my defense, I had the flu.)

      1. Hmmm. I’m wondering if my blog posts even got through, for the people who subscribed. Because between the last three blog posts, I’ve received one comment. This is weird.

        (It’s fine. I neglect comments quite often… *coughcoughcough* Like yours, on the GoT post.)

  4. This sounds hilarious and painful. Bring it on. 🙂

    Also, I am not sure whether to laugh or cringe over rule number 5, or simply have faith that you intended to use poor grammar to emphasis your point.

Feel free to leave a comment below.

