Guest Post: The Worst Types of Book Endings

Ha, didn’t guess that, did you? I’m referring to anyone who tried to guess what this post would be about. I guess this is sort of cheating, since I didn’t actually write this post, but I’m sure you’ll understand, because the fantastic Nirvana has won that whole guest post award contest. Better luck next time, those who wanted to win it. There’s still the 3,000th comment you can be the author of.

Anywho, thank you for doing this, Nirvana. And don’t forget that you are allowed to respond to every comment as if this was your own blog.

_______

The ending of the book, in my mind, is the most important part. Even if the book sucked, I’ll still consider the book good if the author redeemed himself in the end.

ENDINGS ARE EVERYTHING, PEOPLE.

Okay, not everything. A lot of other things count too: characters, plot, villains. I have a tendency to exaggerate. (My sister agrees, having the ginormous nerve to ignore the daggers I’m mentally shooting at her. My defense: I’m a writer. I exaggerate for a  living. At least I will, when I’ve completed my bestselling novel and all, that is.)

But I digress. Enough rambling and onto the post.

The worst types of book endings…

Capture 1. The infamous ‘Happily Ever After’

I can’t believe I just wrote this. I HATE my favourite characters dying. The angst. The pain. The way the writer picks the exact chap I had fallen in love with, and kills him. Authors are demons in disguise. Though I’m an angel.  Their books break me into little pieces, put me back together and tear me apart again. Wouldn’t a cutesy ending be nice?

Wrong.

But after all that, I still hate ’em. Hate the neatly wrapped up ending with the ‘and they lived happily ever after’. I sort of enjoy the angst, actually. The hair-tearing sense of foreboding, the bouts of sobbing. Because in the end, life is that way. You don’t get the prince (he dies), and if it’s war: I WANT SOME SACRIFICE.

One book I’ll take as an example, will be Blood of Olympus. The book was fab, but the ending was too cutesy and unrealistic. And the battle against Gaea was too easy. (An epilogue would have been nice too, Rick)

2. Dues ex Machina

tertgrt

Another book ending ruiner: dues ex machina.

Where the solution just drops out of the sky, no excuses whatsoever. Just the author who couldn’t come up with a solution to explain this sudden turn of events.

I mean, if you really need to use this, do it in a way so that it doesn’t ruin the book. Drop subtle hints throughout the book so the reader thinks ‘Hey, why didn’t I guess so? OOH I REMEMBER. THEY MENTIONED IT AT THE START OMG’

3.I wanna know what happens next.

rfd

Please don’t leave the readers in the dark. They need to know what happens. No point in tormenting us further, is there?

It’s fine to leave a hint of mystery when you end a book/series. It’s the best kind of ending. The kind that makes you think, and wonder. But there is a fine line between not having an epilogue or something but properly ending it. So it seems like an ending. Making the ending seem like the book is missing some pages and you need to get it replaced, is not okay.

And that’s it, folks. What kind of endings do you hate. Any particular book in mind?

____

Also, I forgot to mention: Check out Nirvana’s blog! If she doesn’t gain five hundred followers within the next five minutes, I will start throwing fists.

4 Replies to “Guest Post: The Worst Types of Book Endings”

  1. Ooh, the third type of ending was definitely Mockingjay. I liked Mockingjay, admittedly, but damn that ending was vague.

    My least favorite endings are definitely the deus ex machina ones, like in one book by Stephen King, the day was literally saved by an act of God. I disapprove, Stephen King. I disapprove.

  2. The type of ending that most definitely piss me of are Dues ex Machina. They piss me off to the deepest depths of my heart and make me want to brandish a knife and fight the urge to throttle someone.

    Happily ever afters to somewhat the same extent, though not quite. I already have a lot of angst in my own life, thankyou very much! 🙂

Feel free to leave a comment below.

