If I were to tell my colleges about this blog, would that hurt or help my chances?

I’ve been wondering this for a while. On one hand, they should be impressed with the fact that I’ve been writing here for several years, and some of my posts should definitely sway them in my favor. Such as the post where I threatened to punch a bunch of teenagers in the face, or that post where I taught an eighth grader about the value of books.

But then I wonder if they’ll see posts like, “Looking at Colleges: Pros and Cons,” in which I said some pretty negative things towards the colleges I’ve applied to. For example, in my evaluation of Stony Brook University, I referred to Long Island (where it’s located) as a place filled with unspeakable evil. Okay, so I didn’t say exactly that, but I certainly implied it, and I can’t imagine Stony Brook being okay with such slander.

Oh, and I spelled the school with one word (“Stonybrook”) instead of the proper two, which surely couldn’t come off well. 

While I didn’t badmouth many schools too badly, there were a couple things there that I doubt would appear promising for any admissions adviser. The fact that I was willing to hold a grudge against SUNY Binghamton just because one of their vending machines didn’t work doesn’t make me seem like a well-developed individual. And the fact that I listed “abnormally high marijuana use” as a positive for SUNY Oneonta doesn’t help either. 

Or what if they start off with my About Page, which I rewrote a month ago, and make their decision based off that? “I smoke pot, but only because it makes me look cool,” was an actual line that I wrote there. Would they realize that I was being sarcastic? I like to think they would, but I am not taking that chance. No sirree.

But just in case said recently mentioned colleges happen to be reading this, I’d like to say a few things:

First of all, I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not the best student. I’ve been described as a dumbass, a slacker, a super-cool badass, and Han Solo 2.0, although those last two terms aren’t really relevant. The point is that I am really good when it comes to subjects that I’m genuinely interested in. Except of course for biology class in the third quarter of ninth grade. That was a fluke, I swear. In college I’ll be pursuing courses that I genuinely want to take, except for some of those required ones. Okay, a lot of them will be required, but some of them won’t be, and I’m pretty sure I’ll do well in those. And for the other ones, I’m sure I could just copy some notes and cheat my way through them. Wait . . .

Secondly, I really want to go to a four-year college, and yours seems particularly cool. I want to leave home and start again in a new place, far, far away from my family and friends from home. I want a fresh start, just like the characters in season 2 of The Leftovers. Of course, that “fresh start” ended terribly for pretty much everyone involved, so, uh, yeah.

And finally, if you do accept me, can you make sure I get a roommate who doesn’t snore?

I don’t want a roommate who snores, is what I’m trying to say here.

7 Replies to “If I were to tell my colleges about this blog, would that hurt or help my chances?”

  1. Haha I was in a similar dilemma. Ultimately, I didn’t include it, but I gave it a mention in a couple of my interviews. I also have a few cynical posts that I don’t really want colleges to see….though to be honest, I doubt they have the time to read in depth. You just made things a lot easier by identifying the incriminating posts thought. 😛

    1. I think I’ll probably mention the blog if I see the opportunity too, although I probably won’t give them the name of it unless I have to. Or perhaps I can give them the name of a really famous blog (something in 100k follower range), that should help.

      According to all those internet safety assemblies I went to throughout the last seven or so school years, the moment you post something online, it’s there forever, and years later your colleges will hunt those posts down and judge you for it. (Supposedly. Based on my experience with applications, I’m finding it hard to believe that they even bother looking at social media, let alone search through my entire Facebook timeline.) If that’s the case then I’m screwed.

    1. I haven’t told any of my friends either. It’s not so much that I’m afraid of what they’ll think, but more that I don’t want them to tell other people about my blog. Basically, I’m not sure I want random people coming up to me and talking to me about my blog. That just seems weird.

Feel free to leave a comment below.

