An A to Z Bookish Survey

This is a cool survey I saw on Haley’s blog, and because I’m too busy and too lazy to come up with an original post, I decided to answer the questions. And these questions are cool.

The original survey was created by The Perpetual Page Turner.

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Stephen King, as any loyal follower of mine should know.

Best Sequel Ever:

Hopefully Doctor Sleep, by Stephen King, which I will be buying next weekend. But I haven’t actually read that yet, so I guess I’ll go with The Code of Claw, by Suzanne Collins. Greatest children’s book ever.

Currently Reading:

Three books. A Game of Thrones (for fun), The Scarlet Letter (for school), and Night Shift, a collection of short stories by Stephen King (for fun).

Drink of Choice While Reading

Water. Sorry for the boring answer.

E-reader or Physical Book?

Physical book, although I have no real problem with e-readers. I just like the feel of a physical book, along with the smell, texture, taste (not really) and the font.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Margo Roth Spiegelman. Although chances are we wouldn’t actually talk for most of High School until the very end of senior year, right before she disappears without warning.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

Airman, by Eoin Colfer. I picked this out of the library one day in fifth (sixth?) grade not knowing who Colfer was or what the book was about. I just liked the cover. It turned out to be one of my favorite books ever.

Hidden Gem Book:

The Underland Chronicles by Suzanne Collins. Why has no one heard of this series?

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

That time I started reading. Also, the time I read The Stand.

Just Finished:

A Tale of Two Cities, by Charles Dickens. Rating: 4.5/5.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

The bad ones.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Probably The Stand, which is about 1,100 pages or so in my edition. I am planning to read Les Misérables and War and Peace soon (I’ve been planning to read them for almost a year now), so hopefully that’ll change.

Major book hangover because of:

The Book Thief. After reading it I felt as if someone had murdered my entire family.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Only one. In my defense, I mostly get books from the library. I only pay for books when the library doesn’t have it or I’m absolutely sure I’ll love.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

The Harry Potter series. I’m counting it all as one book.

Preferred Place To Read:

The comfy (but not too comfy) chair in my dad’s room.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“Thomas Edison’s last words were ‘It’s very beautiful over there’. I don’t know where there is, but I believe it’s somewhere, and I hope it’s beautiful.”—John Green.

Then there’s also a quote by Neil Gaiman in The Graveyard Book, which would be helpful to anyone with thoughts of suicide. “You’re alive, Bod. That means you have infinite potential. You can do anything, make anything, dream anything. If you can change the world, the world will change. Potential. Once you’re dead, it’s gone. Over. You’ve made what you’ve made, dreamed your dream, written your name. You may be buried here, you may even walk. But that potential is finished.”

Reading Regret:

Not having yet read anything by George Orwell. The guy seems cool.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):
  1. The Dark Tower series, by Stephen King.
  2. A Song of Ice and Fire, by George R. R. Martin.
Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:
  1. The Book Thief
  2. Paper Towns
  3. To Kill a Mockingbird? (This one’s debatable)
Unapologetic Fangirl For:

Would I technically be a fanboy? Do fanboys even exist? If so, I’d be an unapologetic fanboy for Stephen King. I might not agree with some of the things he’s said in recent articles concerning him, but I love (almost) everything he’s written.

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Now that Doctor Sleep is out, I can’t think of any not-yet-released books I’m excited for. Sorry.

Worst Bookish Habit:

Not finishing a book.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

The Cat in the Hat. That’s right, I still have those books.

Your latest book purchase:

As in, actual money being spent? That would be both American Gods, and The Fifth Wave, both of which were purchased at the same time.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

The Long Walk, by Stephen King. This book was physically painful, but for some reason I couldn’t stop reading.

Tada! Feel free to do this survey on your own blog if you like.  Sorry if you were expecting an original post today, but I’m too sleep-deprived to write anything with quality.

21 thoughts on “An A to Z Bookish Survey

  1. Talk to me about A Tale of Two Cites! My class just read it at school and everyone hated it…except me? I know you said 4.5/10. Give me your thoughts, or better yet, write a blog post! ;D

    I really like cake, just in case you know you wanna thank me for giving you a fabulous idea because your idea bucket is totally drained and now you’re wailing at the sight of hope in this blog comment.
    -Haley

    1. Sorry, I meant to write 4.5/5. I’ll change that soon. I loved AToTC! My only problem was that the beginning chapters were too wordy and his prose made it hard to get into. But once I got to chapter four, I was hooked. (And that ending was magnificent, by the way.)

      What type of cake? I’m only good at baking strawberry and chocolate cakes. I could also make you a squirrel cake, but no one ever seems to like those.

      1. Ahhh great!!! I’m so glad I’m not the only teenager ever who loves it:) I still haven’t finished it (less than 100 pages, I believe) but I know what happens, due to my teacher spoiling it. Sigh. Dickens is magnificent! Yes, I could not have gotten into it fully without the help of Cliffsnotes.

        Well, my personal favorite is carrot cakes, but I suppose a squirrel cake is a good second choice, if you can’t pull a wonderful carrot cake out from deep within you!

      2. I also knew the ending before reading, but if my memory is correct, there should still be some twists and turns along the way. The best part about Dickens is that I can purchase his books on my eBooks app for free. I’m planning on reading Oliver Twist soon.

        I guess I can try. but I have a bunch of pet rabbits in my house, so this could very well end badly.

  2. You like Stephen King. There really isn’t anything else to say. This knowledge has made my day that there is another teenager out there who is aware of his existence and actually reads his books before they become inspirations for Simpsons episodes, or become tv shows or movies.

    1. Yeah, I love his books. I think he’s unfairly typecast as a horror writer. He’s written a bunch of amazing novels without a single horror element.

      Of course his scary books are great too.

      1. I have to say though, The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon was not my favourite. I definitely see how it would make for a nice horror movie, but it just didn’t work for me as a book. In my eyes, he redeemed himself with Under The Dome though.

      2. I haven’t read either of those books (yet), but I recall The Girl Who Loved Tom Gordon being very divisive. People seem to either love it or hate it.

        Have you read his sequel to The Shining yet, Doctor Sleep? I’m planning on buying it tomorrow and I have no idea what to expect.

      3. You simply must read Under the Dome. I will even splurge and get it for you in hard copy, and then mail it to you just so you’ll read it. It’s that good.

        And not yet!!! Haha luckily I found a stash of gift cards in my closet and it was 40% off at this bookstore downtown, so I have it, but I’m worried about reading it. I know I’ll be disappointed if it isn’t as good as The Shining. Plus, I have a tiny fear of cracking open a hardcover book, but I wasn’t waiting for it to come out in paperback; that’s just far too long to wait.

      4. I’m planning on reading Under the Dome soon, although it seems a little bit too much like The Simpsons’ Movie to be a coincidence

        I ended up not getting Doctor Sleep. It was too expensive, which is why I hate hardcover books.

      5. Haha, it is so much like The Simpsons because they took the idea and made a parody of it in the movie. A satire even, if you will.

        And I will mail it to you. Canadians like putting hardcover on sale for a reason that still remains unknown to me, but they do. And you need to read it. Within the next 7-14 days.

    1. I think the main thing I love about this book was that even though it had sad moments, the book was still so much fun to read. I’ve always wanted to go out on a night of mischief and pull off elaborate pranks on people I hate, and I’d love to go on a spontaneous twenty-three hour road trip. There were a couple other thing: I thought it was John Green’s most thought-provoking novel, and Ben, Radar, Lacey and Margo were some of his best characters yet, in my eyes.

  3. I loved The Book Thief so much when I read it! I thought I was alone on that.
    The ending was one of the saddest I’d ever read, and felt really empty afterward. Such a great, emotional book. I might actually reread it soon.

    1. I thought I was the only who liked it too until I started this blog. We had to read it for a school assignment, and I cried my eyes out while all the other students in my class shrugged and called the book “boring.”

      1. Same here, had to read it for one of my honors courses last year. I was sitting reading it in my living room, and had to go and lock myself in my room to tear up and be pseudo-depressed for a half hour.

  4. To continually comment on this same post —
    I agree with you on the Underland Chronicles. After being utterly underwhelmed by Mockingjay, I saw an ad for it on the back cover and figured I’d check it out. With such a silly premise, that was a really gritty book, it blindsided me. I actually thought the series as a whole blew the Hunger Games out of the water, with the exception of Catching Fire, which is in my list of top favorite books.

    1. I keep changing my mind about Catching Fire. Some days I look back on it and think it’s the best in the trilogy, other days I think the opposite. I do think that it has the potential to be the best movie adaptation, though.

Feel free to leave a comment below.