Society’s Increasing Reliance on Technology is a Good Thing (for me)

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “It’s a Text, Text, Text, Text World.”

This may surprise you, but I am actually a very different person outside of this blog. Or at least, I act differently. My sentences aren’t quite as smooth flowing, I rarely resort to using lists to prove a point, and I have yet to randomly disappear for weeks without an explanation. So when I saw the following prompt on the daily post, “How do you communicate differently online than in person, if at all? How do you communicate emotion and intent in a purely written medium?” I knew this had the potential to get interesting.

Now one thing you should know about me, is that I grew up with and still have a speech impediment that prevents me from pronouncing the “r” sound. I took speech therapy classes up until the fourth grade, and then at the end of the year the therapist basically said, “Well, you’re hopeless. Good luck dealing with this for the rest of your life,” and that was that. As a result, I went through most of my childhood purposely trying to avoid the letter r as much as possible. I also developed a few mental scars, a fear of public speaking and an intense hatred of the word “rural.” I mean seriously, fuck that word. It’s evil.

I like to think this was why I turned to writing in the first place. The ‘R’ key on my computer works just fine, thank you very much, and when I’m typing something I can say whatever I want to say, without causing confusion or feeling self-conscious. Some people, (mostly people I’m not too close to) consider me a quiet fellow*, and then are surprised to see the stuff I write, be it online or by text. I seem like a different person, apparently.

Which leads to the question: who is the real me? The person people see and talk to in real life or the online version? That’s a difficult question, Person Who Asked, but for the sake of brevity I think I’m going to have to go with the latter, if only because on here, I have no limits. I’ll write about whatever I want, regardless of how many r-words are involved. 

Okay, I do have some limits. There are a few things I don’t share with y’all, such as the contents of my internet browsing history, what I did last halloween, or how I lost my virginity to a wall. Some stories should just not be told. 

I’m beginning to think I’m not answering the prompt correctly (at least, not the second half), so if you’ll excuse me I think I’ll quickly change the topic. I just set up a fancy chatroom. I’m not sure why I wanted to create a chatroom, but alas, here it is. You should try it out because who knows? This could be fun. 

*At least, I assume that’s what they think. Though to be fair, my level of outgoingness (that’s a word) varies from place to place.

4 Replies to “Society’s Increasing Reliance on Technology is a Good Thing (for me)”

  1. Interesting post. I understand what you mean about being different in person irl than online. For instance, online, I am never at a loss for words, where in real life, I VERY often forget exceedingly common words.

    Also, my sister had a similar speech problem when she was a kid and the therapy has lead to her over-pronouncing all of her Rs and Ls, which has the odd effect of making her sounds British.

    1. People used to think i had a British too, (though for the opposite reason). Also, are you on the chatroom by the name of RatherBeWriting? Because i am confused over there.

  2. I’d like to think that I’m less pedantic in real life than I am on my blog but… heh.
    Anyway, I appreciate you responding to this prompt in an authentic way, instead of just being like “technology is awesome because technology is the future and iphones and laptops and globalization!!!!”

Feel free to leave a comment below.

